Day Five Hundred and Thirty One of Unemployment-Fifty and Unemployed

Gathering Donations

I wanted to spend today to gather donations for tomorrow. I already have one large garbage bag full of sweaters. I want to get together at least a trunk full of stuff to take. Ideally, I’d really like to have a car full, filling up the front passenger and back seats but I doubt that I’ll be able to do that.

I have a bunch of breakables that I put in a box. I can’t believe how much stuff I have accumulated over the years. Some of it is stuff I’ve shoved in a cupboard or drawer and haven’t set eyes on in years. Why am I keeping some of this stuff?

Unexpected Bank Charge

I was going over my US bank account charges online. When I was down south last weekend, I had deposited some money in my account. I wanted to make sure that I hadn’t let my account go overdrawn.

I have had this bank account for years. I opened it when I started selling on eBay. At the time, it was a good deal. There were minimal charges. I didn’t use it much aside from linking it to my PayPal account.

In recent years though, they have started to nickel and dime me with different fees to the point of where it’s driving me crazy. The latest is that I have to make at least eight transactions in my account or they will charge me $5. When I overdrew my account this past weekend, they charged me $10. My account rarely has more than a couple of hundred dollars in it at any given time, so that represented a big charge.

Unfortunately, after researching other banks, there doesn’t seem to be much difference. So I’m stuck right now. And I have to be extra vigilant about all the charges that they keep adding to this account. Who reads those junk mail inserts that the statements have? Well, I have to now.

Free Movie Screening

I drove to pick up my Aunt to go see a free movie screening. My friend had given me a pass for Homefront starring Jason Statham and James Franco. I hadn’t checked it out to see what it was about but I figured it might be a nice family drama.

As soon as it started, I could tell that this would be a violent movie. I was kicking myself for not checking before bringing my Aunt. She ended up being a good sport about it though. If I had known, I would not have brought her.

Car and Other Troubles

I have noticed that my car has been leaking oil lately. I had hoped to be able to avoid any major car repairs before the new year, but the situation has been getting increasingly worse. I’ve been keeping an eye on the oil level, especially when I was down south on the highway. The last thing that I want is to have the engine seize on me because I didn’t have enough oil.

In addition to my car, computer, light fixture, printer, violin and assorted other problems, I have been having trouble with my shower drain. No matter what I have done, I can’t seem to get it to drain normally. I keep checking the internet to see if there are any other solutions that I have yet to try. I feel like crying in the shower with water reaching my ankles.

This is just yet another setback in my life right now. My depression is getting worse and it’s really frustrating me.

Leave a Reply

